Deer Isle Yacht Club

Sylvester Cove, Sunset, Maine

Deer Isle Yacht Club Scholarship

We are pleased to announce that the 2022 recipient of the DIYC Scholarship in the amount of $550 is Anwen Hudson, the daughter of Rene Colson Hudson of Deer Isle and Gordon Hudson of Morrestown, N.J. Anwen has been an active member of Student Council, concert band, varsity tennis, Eco Club and received the Phi Beta Kappa Society Award. She will be attending Smith College to study environmental sciences and policy.

The DIYC Scholarship Fund was established in 2020 through generous donations from club members for the purpose of assisting graduating seniors from the Deer Isle-Stonington High School with their continuing education. This is an endowed fund and is managed and distributed by Maine Community Foundation (MCF).  The first scholarship was awarded in 2021.

Selection of student recipients will be made by the DISHS according to the following criteria: 

Student Eligibility Criteria:

a) Full time resident of Deer Isle or Stonington, Maine

b) Financial Need

c) Enrollment or acceptance (with the intention of enrollment) into a continuing education program, including, but not limited to, an accredited college, vocational school, or certificate program or courses.

d) A demonstrated history of volunteerism in school and/or community.

We hope your contribution to this scholarship fund will add, not take away from, your planned yearly giving.

Ways to Donate:

  • Send Check to:

Maine Community Foundation (MCF)

245 Main St.

Ellsworth, ME 04605

Add DIYC on the memo line of your check

    • Online Banking:

Create Maine Community Foundation as a payee and DIYC as the account number/code

  • Credit Card:

Go to 

Select “Give Now”

Select Amount (3% fee will be added for credit cards)

Select “Designate the purpose of this donation…”

Scroll to the bottom and select “Other”

Type in DIYC

There is no way to make an automatic recurring donation by

credit card at this time.

    • A Charitable Rollover IRA Gift for donors 70 1/2 and over 

For questions, contact Susan Scholl, Outreach Committee. or 301 325-1035.